

## PROCEDURES FOR YELLOW FEVER IN ZANZIBAR.

As yellow fever is frequently fatal for those who have not been vaccinated, vaccination is recommended for all travelers (with few exceptions as above) visiting areas where there is a risk of yellow fever transmission. An individual risk assessment based on duration of travel, activities during travel, risk of exposure, medical history, age and previous immunization status is indicated.

- 1. All travelers coming in Zanzibar from countries where there is a risk of yellow fever transmission, according to the list published by the World Health Organization, who to enter. Zanzibar must be properly vaccinated against this disease.
- 2. The passenger arrive in Zanzibar without such accreditation, will be vaccinated by the authorized Port health Unit or returned to the country where they came from by the airline or ship or Boat that carried them here.
- 3. Travelers who possess an exemption from yellow fever vaccination, signed by an authorized medical officer or an authorized health worker, may nevertheless be allowed entry into a country, but may be required to be quarantined for not more than 6 days, reckoned from the date of last possible exposure to infection, or be placed under surveillance or required to report fever or other symptoms to the competent authority.

4. The vaccine will be charged 40USD/dose in any ports of entry. The shot is good for ten years, but it will have to be applied at least ten days before arriving in Zanzibar.

5. A passengers and members of crew who, while in transit through an airport situated in an area with risk of yellow fever transmission, remained within the airport premises during the period of their entire stay will not be considered as coming from the high risk countries and thus not vaccinated. While who stay in transit form more than 12hrs should be vaccinated.

6. The governmental authorities in Zanzibar are taking these measures to reduce the likelihood of someone who has been infected in their home country of bring the disease here.

The following countries and areas are regarded as risk of yellow fever transmission:

Africa:

Angola, Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo, Côte d'Ivoire, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Ethiopia, Gabon, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea- Bissau, Kenya, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sâo Tome and Principle, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Sudan, Togo, Uganda, Tanzania and Zambia.

Americas:

Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia, Ecuador, French Guiana, Guyana, Panama, Peru, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, and Venezuela.

**Note**: When a case of yellow fever is reported from any country, that country is regarded by the Government of Zanzibar as a country with risk of yellow fever and is added to the above list.